Training

Strongmen, Strongmen Everywhere

Yesterday I was working through some assistance work for deadlifts, and decided to finish off by sweating through some axle cleans. Now, my gym isn’t exactly a strongman paradise, but it’s got this gorgeous rust bucket of a 3-inch fat bar that I use for my axle work. It’s heavy, and thick enough I can barely grip it. Beautiful.

So after grunting and sweating through the dirtiest continental clean set of my life, one of the gym regulars approaches me. A fellow named Dylan; one of those gym acquaintances you nod at and spot for occasionally, but I didn’t know much about him.

He asked me if I was training for Axle Press. I told him that I was, somewhat surprised and, lo and behold, Dyaln used to train for Strongman, but ended up dropping out due to not being able to find the equipment, or a place to train, or connect with the community. I can’t say I blame him, Whitecourt isn’t exactly a strength mecca (barring a few creatine-headed bodybuilders who may actually be the most obnoxious two individuals I’ve ever had the unfortunate experience of sharing oxygen with, but that’s a story for another blog post).

So I guess what I’m trying to get at it, keep training! Train alone, but keep training. You never know where you’ll find a budding strongman to support you, and these small encounters with members of this great community always inspire me to keep at it, and push myself harder.

Thanks a million, Dylan!

Cheers,

The Bear

P.S: for dedicated followers, I should have something new and cool up soon. Keep checking back!

Leave a Reply

