Training

A Little Something New

Training is going well. I decided to shake up my routine a little today. Normally it would be bench press day today, but lately I’ve been thinking that the bench press, while one of the Big 3, isn’t really a lift I need to focus heavily on right now.

So today was devoted instead to some exercises aimed at improving my explosiveness and some event training.

Did some dumbbell snatch to work on my explosive strength, although I’m still struggling with the necessary shoulder mobility for proper form barbell snatch.

For event training, I did stacked plate rows to simulate Atlas Stone pickups. I loaded up a squat bar heavy, and did rapid step-ups on to a low box to build my strength in a yoke race. And i made use of the lovely loader tires my gym keeps outside for some good ol’ fashioned tire flipping.

A great workout, and I feel better than ever about my chances of being ready to compete next summer.

Bear Power!

Leave a Reply

